W4W Toronto

Club and Event Previews and Reviews

Dream Lounge – July 20th, 2006 – R.I.P

205 Richmond Street West, Toronto

Thursdays at Dream is called REUNION THURSDAYS with renowned Toronto DJ Starting from Scratch. We ended up at Dream after leaving a poorly packed Fluid Nightclub.

Entry into Dream was a rigamarole. The bouncer was a pasty beast of a man with absolutely no personality. He repeatedly had people get in one of 3 lineups, and would keep you waiting at the door for no apparent reason. The smokers had to smoke where people were trying to get in and security was a mess in validating who was already inside. It was one of the most disorganized schemes I’ve ever seen.

After gaining entry 10 minutes later. I was not sure if I wanted to stay. Apparently the music would be old school r&B, etc, but I saw a lot of younger urbanites whose style of dress made me wonder if they had any home training. I asked the short man down stairs guarding entry into the club if I could take a peek in before committing, but the turd adamantly refused. Before I knew it, my girlfriends had already paid for me, so I had to go in.

The first thing you see when you are in Dream proper are the beds. Full sized beds right where everyone can view your business. Sounds interesting, but believe me it is not. It is a total waste of space, and could be better used by making it a lounge area with comfortable leather couches. You can’t even see the dancefloor from where the couches are located. If you are going to have beds in a club, put them on a platform or on a different level so that the people in them can see the dancefloor.

We walked around to the bar, got a drink, and then proceeded to the main room. We found a space in the VIP area and took root. At first the hard sounds of dancehall reggae was not turning me – or my girlfriends on. Eventually the old school r&b found its mark in our hearts and we had to get our boogie on. No really, we couldn’t stop dancing! The vibe was on point. The crowd was fabulous. People came to dance and have a good time. Starting from Scratch ended the night with Prince’s “17 Days”.

All in all a great time at a club made special by the vibe of the crowd and by a well seasoned DJ.

Scale of 0-10 (10 being the best)
Music – 81/2 People – 8 Ambiance – 81/2 Love factor – 8

July 21, 2006 - Posted by | Toronto Nightclubs

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

